Teasings of a Midsummer Threesome

I started with a dream. But then, don’t we all?

Photo of old, run down oyster house on the streets of New Orleans
Mine took its first breath in New Orleans. I wonder how many others claim the same

Since, it’s been months of toiling and backbreaking labor to lay the groundwork for an experience unlike any other. Exhausting myself completely, with little or nothing to show for it but the satisfaction of self and the hopes of one day sharing that pleasure.

Propelled forward by an ever-present reverie whispering softly in my ear, I dismantled a jaded soul, busted and fractured by the cruelties of life.

From the pieces, I rebuilt something new, something resolute. I laid down the lifeline and the hard-won excuses, then looked back to catch a glimmer in the rubble. Shining back, once buried under the burdens of expectation and the tarnished fade of years, I found a shard of self-determination, which I’ve carried closely ever since. I would write—passionately, fiercely, even whimsically—as I’ve always wished I could, not only for myself but for the indulgence of every new friend who might stop to pay the honor of a read.

gas street lamp on a building in New OrleansEarly on, I began to question my own sanity in pursuing this quest, as though I had no right daring to believe I possessed something special and unique to offer. Was I being arrogant in my presumption? Or overly bold in hoping others might embrace this new world of mine, crafted just within the shadow’s edge?

Then came a milestone day, and with it the first of several contracts, and I humored a moment of doubt as to the sanity of everybody else. My dream, on the verge of realization, and the door opened wide to so many more. The contracts were signed. The editors scrambled. The date was set, and then changed, and then reset several times over, but finally a new chapter begins.

It begins today. And it begins with you. After a brief eternity in waiting, I couldn’t be more thrilled to debut the first in a summertime trinity announcing the birth of the Crimson Confessions.

cover art for Two-Way Glass, a Crimson Confession book by author J.D. Lexx
If I let the cover speak for itself, is it still considered shameless promotion?

Whether I count you among my dearest friends or I’m just making your acquaintance within these preliminary words, I want to thank you for sharing this first stride out of a gate I’ve spent months bucking and thrashing to escape.

Now comes the scary part. All the pent-up hope, the exasperation of patience, the commotion of nerves at the thought of releasing something new into this world and praying to watch it take flight, all of it culminating in this one fragile moment.

covert art for Order of the Orchidarion, a Crimson Confession book by author J.D. Lexx
Another Confession, coming mid-July

Through it all, I’ve been immensely blessed to work with a remarkable group of people who allow me my vision and entertain my quirks of character, ones who see the enticing allure in a story that wanders off the beaten path and then gets mischievous in the rough. My books strive to titillate, scintillate and occasionally even obfuscate, but never to placate. That, you can always rely on. My heroes are maddeningly fallible, my heroines relatably imperfect, and the circumstances of their unions delectably outlandish.

Within those simple elements, I find the most explosive dynamics can arise. You could say I live to explore them. To challenge the paradigms of comfort and engage the deeper truths that compel us. To languish in the moments that draw us closest together while society grows more determined than ever to pull us apart.

Whether slow and sensuous or urgent and bruising (far be it from me to ever ask you to choose), I believe in the antagonism of anticipation to drive us into embrace, and the slow, grinding appeasement of every tangled sensation to bring us back for more. I want you to feel the experience captured, just as I have felt in capturing it. That quickening of pulse brought on by the encroaching dark and unknown. The revelry in every vice-weakened virtue that underlies those delectable flaws in our nature. Perhaps even the temptation to seek out and conquer your own sultry secrets, if only to lock them away forever.

cover art for Food Lust, a Crimson Confession book by author J.D. Lexx
Three’s company. Coming mid-August

We are, all of us, students of sensuality, even if a repressed and dissatisfied few would have us believe otherwise. I believe there is no shame but in being ashamed. The more open the mind, the more receptive the body to pleasures that transcend them both. That is what drives me above all else—enlivening the flesh by igniting the imagination, and stirring up emotion in the process.

Humor, fear, even outrage serves its purpose, all firing deep inside to heighten our receptivity. Stroke the intellect and the body soon follows. After all, nothing worth having comes easily. But stroke it just right, and for just long enough, and it does eventually come.

Leave a Reply

